Responsibility

“Responsibility is a word brandished by people who believe they can get a one-up on this life by getting everyone else to hop in line.

“By God,” they say, “these idiots don’t know what they’re doing and they’re messing up the whole works!”

They are parents who tell us to “act responsible” while they fight petty wars over who gets what piece of furniture and talk trash about the other when their back is turned.

They are school counselors who scold us about the wickedness of sex and psychedelics and remind us that cursive is totally necessary. 

They are politicians who talk of responsibility on the TV while getting blow jobs by their secretaries with the portraits of their wives overturned on their desk.

We’re all expected to take responsibility for our debt. We’re also expected to take on many debts and to sign away the first twenty years of our lives on the dotted line in the name of “responsibility.”

When I was young it all imposed so much weight on me, this responsibility. It made me feel guilty for being stupid, for not knowing “what I wanted to do with my life.” I was just stepping out onto life’s stage and somehow I had already forgotten my responsibilities.

I didn’t “get” how I already owed some debt of gratitude for being a white male who’d grown up in a semi-affluent American suburb. I didn’t get that I owed to a bank my right to get an education. I didn’t get that money was a prison we construct around ourselves. 

Now I know better. 

Everything is a choice and every day we choose. Responsibility is simply owning those choices.

When you see change in others as the key to your own happiness, you don’t really see anything at all. 

NO ONE IS RESPONSIBLE TO YOU BUT YOURSELF. 

YOU OWE YOUR LIFE TO NO ONE BUT YOURSELF.

THE ONLY RESPONSIBILITY YOU OWE IN THIS WORLD IS TO YOURSELF.

Period.

Leave a Reply

